Anisfield-Wolf Memorial Award

The Anisfield-Wolf Memorial Award is one of two awards presented annually by The Center for Community Solutions. The award and its $25,000 prize are given to a nonprofit community organization for outstanding service; the award fund is held by the Cleveland Foundation. 


2017 Award Presentation

The 2017 Awards event will be held during the Celebration of Human Services on Friday, October 20, at the Hilton Garden Inn-Downtown (1100 Carnegie Ave.); winner must be present. This year’s awards luncheon will follow a morning program of sessions on human services topics. More information about the program will be available soon. Registration will open on September 6.

Nominate an Organization for the $25,000 Anisfield-Wolf Memorial Award

To nominate an organization for the $25,000 Anisfield-Wolf Memorial Award, complete and submit the following two documents by the deadline of Noon, June 30:

  • Nomination form
  • Nomination statement: Typed narrative, one 8.5x11 page, no smaller than 10 point font

What organizations may be nominated?

  • Public service organization
  • Located in the Greater Cleveland area
  • Nonprofit organization (privately funded, tax-supported, or both)

May organizations which were nominated in the past be nominated again?

Yes. Organizations that have won the award should wait 10 years before being nominated again.

What should an organization have accomplished in order to be nominated?

The organization should have performed "outstanding service" for the community. The "service" may have been a program, or it may have been a single, specific activity. It may be "outstanding" because of quality or quantity; because it was new, original, or innovative; or for any other reason the nominator deems significant. It must reflect performance that goes beyond the organization's normal and expected activity. The award is not for excellence in performing routine tasks aimed at fulfilling the organization's basic mission. A substantial portion of the outstanding service being recognized must have been performed during calendar year 2016.

What should be included in the nomination statement (narrative, not a form)?
A good nomination statement:

  • Describes briefly, and specifically, what outstanding service or services the organization performed in 2016. It describes when the program was established, how the service is accomplished, who provides the service (i.e., staff, volunteers), who is directly and indirectly affected by the service, how success of the program is measured, and how it affects the community in both the short and long term. If the program involves community partners, the statement should identify and describe the role of the partners.
  • Explains why the services were outstanding and how they make a significant difference in the community.
  • Is only one 8.5x11 page in length (no longer than one page).
  • Is NOT a boiler-plate funding/grant proposal.
  • Please do not send reports, DVDs, etc.

How should a nomination be submitted?

Completed nomination forms with their nomination statements may be mailed to The Center for Community Solutions (1501 Euclid Ave., Suite 310, Cleveland, OH 44115); emailed as attachments to; or submitted online at 


A list of previous winners may be found below.


altThe Anisfield-Wolf Memorial Award is one of two awards established in 1964 by the late Edith Anisfield-Wolf – poet, philanthropist, and civic leader. It is named after her father, John Anisfield, and her husband, Eugene Everett Wolf. Known by those closest to her as a quiet and reserved woman, Edith was ahead of her time in her thinking on social issues. She left her mark on Cleveland and its institutions with her main focus being to eliminate racial friction. A lifetime Clevelander, Edith was an independent, modern woman who pursued her own civic, artistic, and charitable interests. She was active in the Women’s City Club, the Association for Crippled and Disabled, and the Cleveland Public Library. She gained a reputation as “Cleveland’s publicity-shy philanthropist,” “a generous but shrewd businesswoman who could spot a ‘phony’ every time.” 

Past Award Winners:
2015 EDWINS Leadership and Restaurant Initiative
Care Alliance Health Center
2012 Seeds of Literacy, Inc.
2011 Esperanza, Inc.
2010  YWCA of Greater Cleveland
2009  Youth Opportunities Unlimited
2008  Cleveland Tenants Organization
2007  Slavic Village Development
2006  Cleveland Christian Home
2005  Adoption Network Cleveland
2004  Towards Employment
2003  AIDS Taskforce of Greater Cleveland
2002  The Hunger Network
2001  The Gathering Place
2000  Dress for Success
1999  Applewood Centers, Inc.
1998  Retired and Senior Volunteer Program (RSVP)
1997  Providence House
1996  Eliza Bryant Center
1995  El Barrio, Inc.
1994  Center for the Prevention of Domestic Violence
1993  Cleveland Works
1992  Young African-American Reclamation Project, Community Re-Entry
1991  Stopping AIDS Is My Mission
1990  Project: LEARN
1989  Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Disorders Association
1988  North Coast Community Homes, Inc.
1987  WomenSpace
1986  Child Conservation Council of Greater Cleveland
1985  Lutheran Metropolitan Ministry
1984  Teenage Pregnancy Prevention Panel, Planned Parenthood of Greater Cleveland
1983  Bellflower House, Parents Anonymous of Northeast Ohio
1982  Beech Brook
1981  Greater Cleveland Foodbank
1980  Mental Health Outpatient Program, Center for Human Services
1979  Catholic Counseling Center
1978  Displaced Homemaker Program, Cuyahoga Community College
1977  Jewish Community Center
1976  Hill House
1975  Glenville Health Association
1974  Greater Cleveland Interchurch Council
1973  Free Clinic of Greater Cleveland
1972  Cleveland Scholarship Program
1971  Urban League of Cleveland
1970  Homemaker Service, Cuyahoga County Welfare Department
1969  Supplementary Education Center, Cleveland Board of Education
1968  Community Services Center at Mt. Pleasant
1967  Legal Aid Society
1966  Vocational Guidance and Rehabilitation
1965  PACE Association
1964  Businessmen’s Interracial Committee