Community Solutions welcomes new board officers, members in 2021

Last month, Community Solutions held our annual meeting to elect new officers and five new board members, and to say farewell to four board members who completed their service. The board also recognized Carter Strang, a partner at Tucker Ellis, for completing a two-year term as board chair.

David B. Miller, Ph.D., MSW, MPH was elected to a two-year term as board chair. Miller is an Associate Professor at the Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences at Case Western Reserve University. He received his Ph.D. and Masters of Public Health from the University of Pittsburgh and his Master of Social Work from the University of South Carolina. Miller’s current research focus is on the health status of African-American males. Specifically, he is investigating the awareness and knowledge of Black men regarding prostate cancer, and effects of chronic stress on adolescents and young adults. He has lectured around the United States, and taught in South Korea, Cambodia and the Netherlands. Miller has served as president of South Euclid City Council as well as the president of the Case Western Reserve University Faculty Senate.

Elected as board vice chairs were Genesis Brown of Hyland Software, chair of the Celebration of Human Services Planning Committee; Kyle D. Miller of Dominion Energy Ohio, chair of the Board Development Committee; and Seth Reimer of Key Bank, chair of the Program and Policy Committee. Lynn Koster of Meaden & Moore was re-elected treasurer, and Jenice Contreras of the Hispanic Business Center and the Northeast Ohio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce was elected secretary.

Dabney Conwell

Finally, five community leaders were newly elected to the Community Solutions board:

Dabney Conwell serves as the executive director of the Rose Centers for Aging Well, and vice president of the Benjamin Rose Institute on Aging. Conwell also serves as an adjunct faculty member at Case Western Reserve University. She provides leadership for the development, direction, coordination and fiscal operation for all Rose Centers for Aging Well activities. In 2019 she was selected for a Sisters of Charity Foundation of Cleveland Innovation Mission fellowship.




Treye Johnson



Treye Johnson is a regional outreach manager at the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland. From the bank’s Cleveland office, he works with the community development team on current and emerging economic and community development issues. Previously, Johnson was a program officer at the Burton D. Morgan Foundation, and a George Gund Foundation Fellow. He also recently was selected to serve as a member of the Cleveland Black Futures Fund Advisory Committee.



Michael Meyer





Michael Meyer is a partner in the Litigation Practice Group at Benesch. Meyer represents companies in several industries, including consumer manufacturing, energy, lending, real estate, private equity and technology. Meyer is also a member of the Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association and volunteers with its 3Rs program, which connects lawyers, judges, law students and paralegals with high school students in Cleveland and East Cleveland schools.


Tana Kung Peckham




Tana Kung Peckham is the chief marketing and communications officer for the Cleveland Public Library. She has extensive for-profit and nonprofit marketing experience having worked for both Nestle and American Greetings, as well ideastream, United Way of Greater Cleveland and MOCA Cleveland.




Ra’Teesha Scott



Ra’Teesha Scott, CPA is a tax manager with Plante Moran. She assists nonprofit and for-profit clients with a variety of tax matters. She has volunteered for both the Cuyahoga County EITC Coalition and Habitat for Humanity.


Finally, we wished a fond farewell to departing board members William Doll, the President of Bill Doll and Company; Joseph Mead, formerly an Assistant Professor at Cleveland State University; Patricia Shlonsky, Partner in Charge of Ulmer & Berne’s Cleveland office; and Zulma Zabala the CEO of East End Neighborhood House. Each of them served in leadership roles during their time on the board with  Zabala serving as board chair between 2017 and 2018.